Fun with chemistry in the soap lab

cold process soap in the gel phase

Cold process soap goes through an interesting chemical reaction an hour or even longer after you pour it up into the mold.  If you keep the soap from cooling off quickly by keeping it wrapped in a blanket or otherwise insulated, it will heat back up and almost liquefy into this gel. It starts in the center of the mold and moves outward in a circle until the whole mold is full of gel phase soap. Then it hardens back up in a reverse pattern, outside in. It’s weird.

A guy who stopped by my booth told me he made soap with honey that heated up way more than typical gel phase. I haven’t made much soap with honey, only a few batches. I am going to look into the chemistry of that soon.

2 thoughts on “Fun with chemistry in the soap lab

  1. I had a very interesting experience with some soap that I added ground coffee too as well. I would like to try making transparent soap, which uses sugar and alcohol, I wonder if the added heat from the sugar has anything to do with that…

Leave a Reply

