Halloween shenanigans

Meat Head

So, by now you’ve probably figured out that shenanigans factor prominently in my lifestyle. What can I say?  I demand a high level of stimulation from the world.  The latest bit was our Halloween party last Friday.   I acquired this styrofoam head from a vegan friend of ours with the intention of using it as a meat delivery device.  I like the irony of that, although the donor may not.  Sorry!  I think it looks awesome for a first attempt though.  The eyes are made of a radish which I cut in half, shaved a bit of the skin off for this lovely bloodshot effect, cut holes in which I inserted olives to be the iris/pupil.  The Meat Head idea is shamelessly taken from Makezine’s Halloween issue from a few years ago (what?  it’s there for me to copy!) and the eye-dea I got from the great one’s (that would be Martha Stewart to you) Halloween book, although hers were frozen in ice cubes for libations.

vaguely heart shaped cheese spread glob

I was also trying to get all fancy with the cheese there. I clearly need a better understanding of cheese sculpting to make my next chili powder covered organ look more realistic.  Still, not a bad shape in all.  There is that aortically shaped protuberance there, although it is probably in the wrong place.  What?  I never had to take anatomy, and I sort of molded it on a whim anyway.

Unfortunately I don’t feel I can post more pictures of the actual shenanigans since I did not get everyone’s consent.  I wish I got a picture of the punchbowl with the lovely dry ice fog, but alas, it was not to be.  Next year perhaps.

Leave a Reply

